Sign In Forgot Password

Our Staff and Board


Ossi Nussbaum, Director of Jewish Teen Collaborative (JTC)     215.635.1337, ext. 118

Ossi has a Bachelor of Arts Degree from Tel Aviv University and a Masters of Arts Degree from Bar Ilan University in Israel, both in Political Science. From 1997 through 2013, she taught in the Social Sciences department at the Open University in Israel. Ossi also coordinated all of the activities of the learning skills department in the Raanana campus and designed curriculums for students’ workshops and individual instruction. She trained teachers on writing lessons and providing meaningful learning experience. Ossi and her family moved to Wyncote from Israel in 2013. She is passionate about teaching and has many ideas to inspire and challenge our teens. 

Anita Block, Interim Director of the AJ Preschool and Infant Center     215.635.3490, ext. 120

Anita Block, M.Ed, is currently the Interim Director of Adath Jeshurun Preschool and Infant Center. She has previously served as the Interim Director of Tiferet Beth Israel Early Education Center and the Kehillah Early Learning Center operated by Federation Early Learning Services.   Anita was the director of the Lokoff Early Learning Center for Federation Early Learning Services in Ambler, PA. Prior to re-entering the field of early childhood education, Anita was the Director of the NESS (Nurturing Excellence in Synagogue Schools) for Auerbach Central Agency for Jewish Education (now Jewish Learning Venture). She also served as the Director of the Replication Initiative for PELIE (Partnership for Effective Learning and Innovative Education) to replicate NESS in San Francisco, Detroit, and Pittsburgh. In addition, Anita was the Principal of Perelman Jewish Day School, Forman Campus. From 1984 through 2005, Anita worked at Main Line Reform Temple. She was the director of the Early Childhood Center for 14 years before becoming the Director of Education, responsible for both the Early Childhood Center and the Religious School.

Anita teaches online courses for Gratz College in the NEXT program and was formerly an instructor of the Child Development Associate (CDA) course for the State of Pennsylvania. She is a PQAS-Certified Instructor for the Pennsylvania Keys to Quality Assurance and has presented at various local and national conferences. Anita is also an educational consultant for schools seeking accreditation and support with professional development.

Anita holds an M.A. in Jewish Studies from Gratz College, an M.A. in Early Childhood Education and Administration from Arcadia University, and a B.S. in Elementary Education from Saint Joseph's University.

Rachel Palitto, Director of Programming     215.635.6611, ext. 113

Rachel Palitto is a recent graduate of Drexel University. She has been involved in the Jewish community her whole life. She held multiple leadership positions at the Hillel at Drexel and before that was President of her youth group chapter in high school. As a teenager, she spent time in Israel with her synagogue. Rachel is looking forward to meeting all of the congregants and creating programming that is engaging, educational, and fun. 


Amy Devine-Stretch, Office Manager     215.635.6611, ext. 114
Amy's initial introduction to Adath Jeshurun was in March 2002 as an employee of St. Clair CPAs, a company AJ hired to assist in straightening out the synagogue's accounting office. Amy fondly recalls, "I loved it here so much (at the time I was working with Gene Johnson z"l) that when Gavi Miller was looking to hire someone once St. Clair was finished, I asked if I could apply for the position and have been here ever since." As Amy came on staff to manage AJ's financial systems, she first began by just handling the shul's accounts payable and then, over time, took on more and more responsibilities — keeping the budget, doing payroll, accounts receivable, and generally helping Robert Friedman with everything related to AJ's daily operations.

Beryl Rosoff-Verbit, Administrative Assistant     215.635.6611, ext. 110
Being part of the Jewish community has been a lifelong commitment for Beryl Rosoff-Verbit. This Jewish Northeast Philadelphia girl met her husband at a Bar Mitzvah, started a Hillel at her university, lived on a kibbutz in Israel as a newlywed, taught part-time in a Jewish Montessori school, and later was employed at a Jewish overnight camp. Her belief in the importance of Jewish outreach is exemplified through her 22+ years as an active Hadassah board member. Today, as the newest member of Adath Jeshurun’s administrative team, Beryl feels fortunate to have found her calling. Her tremendous organizational skills, inherently helpful nature, and warm smile are a true asset to AJ’s welcoming community.

Calvin Thompson, Head of Housekeeping and Maintenance     215.635.6611, ext. 129
Hello all, my name is Calvin Thompson. I am the Building Manager of AJ. It didn’t really register until writing this that I have spent almost half of my life in AJ. When you read this I will have started my 18th year at AJ. Although I did not grow up as an AJ kid... I grew up in AJ. Some of my fondest memories have an AJ connection. I used to be envious watching parents pick up their children after Preschool...watching those happy little faces race to their parents tugs at all heart strings. Now, as an AJ parent myself... I get it. AJ is truly a community... better yet a family. And, I get to see family every day. I guess if I can share anything while writing this, it’s that I am grateful. I am grateful to call this my home. And I am grateful to see and share my family every day.

Marjorie Trager, Graphic Designer and Publicity Coordinator     215.635.6611, ext. 116

Marjorie Trager is responsible for developing AJ’s communication materials, from the weekly email, bi-monthly printed newsletter, and website that let congregants know what’s happening at AJ, to the flyers, posters, invitations, and signage that advertise the numerous events held by AJ and its constituent groups. She has worked in the graphic design field for more than 25 years and has worked part-time at AJ since 2009. When not at AJ, she works with numerous corporate clients and spends spare time creating personal artwork. Marjorie grew up in Springfield Township, Montgomery County, and has lived in Wyncote since 1995 with her husband and numerous cats.

Executive Committee

President: Judy Stutman Izes (
Vice Presidents:
     Howard Levin
     Franklin Platt
     David Seltzer
     David Waldstein
     Tammy Zebovitz
Treasurer: Steven Strauss
Secretary: Harry Lessig
Immediate Past President: David L. Reibstein


Chairman: Dr. Bernie Dishler        Vice Chairman: Saul V. Reibstein        Secretary: Rickey Goodman*     

Hon. Wendy Demchick Alloy
Bruce Armon*
David Axelrod
Gladys Bernstein
Mitchell Black
Laurence Brown
Edward Chacker
Stephen H. Davidoff
Dr. Bernard Dishler

Lana P. Dishler
Anne S. Fassler*
Doris Felzer
Martin Freedman
Howard Gershman*
Joshua Gold
Lynda Gross
Mark Hankin
Mervin J. Hartman*

Arnold S. Hoffman*
Stephen B. Klein
Harry Lessig
Allan L. Marmon
Alan S. Nadel*
Stanton S. Oswald
Melvyn H. Rothbard*
Martin Rudolph
Mitchell Russell*

Harry Schwartz
David Seltzer
Steven Shotz
Michael Steinberg
S. Ty Steinberg
Hank Strauss
Don W. Waldman
Joseph M. Yohlin*
*Past President


Kimberly Center
Barbara Cobert
Wendy Cooper
Maxine Croul
Lisa Davidoff
Helen Epstein

Mindy Goldstein
Cody Greenes
Elon Kaplan
Talia Kaplan
Doug Karan
Michal Leventhal

Bruce Lipton
Elisa McAfoos
Carra Minkoff
Ed Moses
David Pashman

Lorna Rosenberg

Eydie Rudman
Amy Russell
Gail Schwartz
Mark Schwartz
Renee Winegrad
Richard Zeises


Thu, October 29 2020 11 Cheshvan 5781